Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing for Publication: News & Introduction

Writing is Sharing: Resources for new and seasoned authors

Extra, Extra Read all About It!

The first issue of this new journal was released in 2018.  The Journal of Contemporary Chiropractic (JCC)  is published by Parker University with Dana Lawrence DC, MMedED, MA  as Editor-in-Chief, 

JCC is dedicated to providing high-quality scientific and educational research and information that enhances the practice and delivery of integrative healthcare.  As an open-access publication there is no subscription cost for its readers. 

You need to register before making a submission. Note that Parker University subsidizes production and there are no author fees for articles accepted for this open access journal.  For more information, contact Dana Lawrence, DC at this email address:  dlawrence [at] parker.edu. 

Cover of the Journal of Contemporary Chiropractic

Considering Open Access Journals?

Both well-established and emerging publishers have developed various models for open-access publishing.  All such models require ongoing support to be sustainable.  Publishers may choose to have authors, their institutions or grant funding pay a fee to have an article freely available worldwide.  The amount of the fee varies greatly from no fee to thousands of dollars.  Some journals contain a mix of open-access and subscribed content, and others are entirely open-access. 

Check journal FAQs for any author fees, and also see the tab about Predatory Publishers.

Indexes Reach a Target Audience

Where journal is indexed  will impact how many readers discover your article.  In addition, while some readers prefer free articles due to cost of subscriptions, open access journals are often on a "pay to publish" business model, that is, at cost to the author.  Quality and scope of the journal are obvious factors in how many clinicians, researchers, educators or other target audiences will find and read your article. 

  • High quality open-access indexes such as PubMed are searched widely by clinicians.
  • High quality open-access databases such as Index to Chiropractic Literature have a narrow scope that makes retrieving relevant articles very straight forward  for members of the profession and anyone who knows about the database .
  • Well-known subscription databases such a Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) are also widely used by clinicians and researchers, but mostly those who are affiliated with a subscribing institution.

PubMed and MEDLINE are not exactly the same

PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central (PMC) and publisher web sites.  -- PubMed banner.  Chiropractic journals accepted in the PubMed Central repository are discoverable in PubMed by keywords but are not fully indexed with MeSH headings unless they are also accepted in MEDLINE. 

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 24 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).-- NLM's description.  Chiropractic journals accepted for indexing in MEDLINE are fully indexed.