Skip to main content

Interlibrary Loan & Copy Requests: Field Doctors

Welcome Doctors, Chiropractic Assistants and Researchers

Library staff is happy to provide resources to facilitate lifelong learning, evidence-informed patient care and successful practice.

If you are a graduate of Life Chiropractic College West, please use the Alumni tab.

Copy Service is provided as long as requests are within these guidelines:

  • no more than one article per journal issue
  • maximum 5 articles published within the last 5 years from a journal title
  • maximum 10 free articles or book chapters annually 

Interlibrary Loan Service provides materials ordered from other libraries.  

Costs for copies and interlibrary loans are explained in Fees for Service tab.

Copyright Compliance implies that copies should not substitute for needed journal subscriptions or book purchases.  Chiropractors do well to support authors and publishers who produce and distribute relevant material on chiropractic care.

Check Our Library First

Journal Articles

These databases can link directly to available full text of journal articles. 

Learn more at Find Full Text tab.

  • PubMed @ Life West
  • Google Scholar (easy to set-up)
  • EbscoHost 

Links to full text from these databases are convenient but not 100% foolproof.
Searching for a title in Journals List is certain.


 

Logo Full Text Finder

Looking for Books and More?

Find Books and Audiovisuals

Logo OCLC WorldCat

Which is the best option?


For all requests:

Submit accurate citations copied from research databases, using the most concise but complete format. 
If a complete citation is available please send it.  Sending only the DOI number (Digital Object Identifier) is acceptable if that is all you have, but it can be problematic. 


For occasional requests:

Copy & Paste the citation into an email  message to library@lifewest.edu.   Your "Sent" folder is a record of your request.
PubMed has a shortcut feature.   Please see the PubMed tab.


For frequent requests from PubMed:

Register for the Loansome Doc service.

Send an email to library@lifewest.edu.

Most research databases and journal sites enable exporting a citation.  Copy & paste the complete citation into your email message.

Important things to include when requesting journal articles:

  • Your full name
  • Article Title
  • Article Author
  • Journal Name
  • Date of Publication
  • PubMed ID, if available

Important things to include when requesting book or media resources:

  • Your full name
  • Book or Media Title
  • Author
  • Edition
  • Date of Publication
  • ISBN or OCLC Number, if available

 

If you can't find all of that information, that's absolutely fine. However, the more information you provide, the easier it is for us to find what you are looking for!

 

Request a demonstration at the reference desk to clarify these instructions.

  1. a)  Search PubMed@LifeWest in order to easily identify which articles are already available at Life West Library.  Change Format to Abstract view in order to see Life West icons.  OR 
    b)  Login at MyNCBI and set up Filter preferences to show LIfe West subscriptions.  See a librarian for assistance.
  2. Identify citations that require interlibrary loan.  You might want to store them Clipboard while you search for more citations.
  3. Open Clipboard, and use the feature Send to: Email, choosing Summary format.  Summary is a concise and complete citation format.
  • Send to your own email address, and then forward to library@lifewest.edu

OR

  • From PubMed, enter your name and email address in the Subject and Notes boxes; then Send to library@lifewest.edu 
    You MUST include your contact information in the Notes box.  Without this, library staff has NO IDEA who sent the request.

Screenprint of form for emailing citations from PubMed

  • TIP:  Even if you send your request directly from PubMed to library@lifewest.edu, you can still send it again to your own email, with subject line:  ILLs requested.  This serves as a backup and reminder of which requests you already submitted for interlibrary loan.   Alternatively, you can send all your ILL requests to a custom MyNCBI Collection named ILL requests. 

A free personal MyNCBI account is needed to use Collections feature:  

Loansome Doc Service allows registered users to send interlibrary loan requests from within PubMed, and check status of requested articles.  This feature works only for articles which are indexed in PubMed.  Registration is free.

Steps:

  1. Register
  2. Enter location as United States: California
  3. Search for Libraries
  4. Refine search to "Unaffiliated Health Professionals" (even if you are affiliated with Life West, or are a member of the public)
  5. Select Life Chiropractic College West
  6. Proceed with registration ... in Ordering Preferences, please state maximum charge per article that you are willing to pre-authorize.
  7. See tutorial to learn how to use the feature Send to: Order for submitting your requests for journal articles
     

Request a demonstration at the reference desk to clarify these instructions.

  1. Search any EbscoHost database and select articles of interest.
  2. Add articles that require interlibrary loan to the storage folder.  
  3. Open the Folder, and checkmark the articles.  
  4. Click Email and fill out the form, choosing Vancouver format.   
  • Send to your own email address, and then forward to library@lifewest.edu

OR

  • From within EbscoHost, enter E-mail to library@lifewest.edu;
    Enter your name and email address in the Subject and Comments boxes.
    You MUST include your contact information in the Comments box.  Without this, library staff has NO IDEA who sent the request.
  • Click Send button

Screenprint of EbscoHost articles displayed in storage Folder

Screenprint EbscoHost form for emailing citations

 

Life West library owns 99% of journal articles in the Index to Chiropractic Literature.
It is rare that you will need to request an interlibrary loan.

But...just in case the link to an online article fails, or you cannot find an older issue on the shelf...

  1. Checkmark the article that you cannot find 
  2. Scroll down, and fill out only the Email portion  
  • Send to your own email address, and then forward to library@lifewest.edu

OR

  • Enter your name in Subject box
    Enter your email address in Message box
    Then Email to library@lifewest.edu 
    You MUST include your contact information in the Message box.  Without this, library staff has NO IDEA where to send the article.

Screenprint of ICL form for emailing a citation

Reminder:  Only faculty, students and staff can request a book from another library.  It must be somehow relevant to Life West's mission.

  1. Verify which edition is of interest, and find a complete citation if possible.
  2. Send citation in message to library@lifewest.edu.

 

Sources of citations:

Online booksellers and publisher websites will have accurate title, author, edition and ISBN number.  All of these elements help identify the book you need.

Email feature at OCLC WorldCat database will generate and send a citation

  1. Click on the title of interest to display its details
  2. Click on Email
  3. Complete the form
  • Send to your own email address, and then forward to library@lifewest.edu

OR

  • Enter Recipient: library@lifewest.edu  

    You MUST include your contact information in the Notes box.  Without this, library staff has NO IDEA who sent the request.

Screenprint of OCLC WorldCat form for emailing a citation

Loading ...

Policies

Scope of Service

We primarily accept requests that relate to the mission of the college.  For strictly personal needs, please contact your local public library or talk to us about fee for service.

  • For current students, faculty and staff:  The library covers the expense of interlibrary loan charges until the individual's quarterly cost cap is reached.  The cost of each article is determined by the lending library.
  • For all other users: Library staff provides both interlibrary loan and document delivery service (copies of journal articles or a book chapter from Life West's collections) on a fee for service basis. 
 

Copies and Copyright Compliance

Any journal articles or book chapters copied at Life West library, or received through interlibrary loan, are for your personal use only.  Copies should not be further redistributed without permission of the copyright holder.

  • Educators should refer to copyright law regarding "Fair Use" or talk to a librarian if portions of borrowed materials are useful in the classroom.  
  • Library staff fills requests that are within the guidelines for the number of articles from journal or the extent of content from a book permitted by copyright law and licensing agreements.  Requesting copies cannot substitute for the need to subscribe to a journal or purchase a book.
  • Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.  Licensing agreements for online materials supercede copyright guidelines.

Turnaround time for copies is usually 2-5 days.

We deliver copies by PDF via email; by OCLC Article Exchange when publisher's license requires secure transmission; and by mail when license explicitly prohibits file sharing.
 

Returnable Loans

A nationwide community of libraries participates in interlibrary loan, mostly for lending books.  
Most libraries do not share audiovisual materials; however Life West will place the request.

Turnaround time for returnable loans is usually 2-4 weeks.  

  • Anyone requesting returnable materials must reside in the SF Bay Area and hold a current Life West library card.
  • Loan periods are typically 3 weeks.  Ability to renew is at the discretion of the lending library.
  • For overdue materials, the library sends a reminder after five days, and a billing notice for the replacement value of the item plus $20.00 processing fees after 10 days.  Some items are difficult to replace and will be charged at market rate.

 

Talk to Library Staff

General questions:  
Circulation desk staff will refer your call.
(510) 780-4507

Help with research:
(510) 780-4599
ext. 2730     Reference desk 

More contacts:

Talk to Library Staff

library@lifewest.edu

Staff acknowledges your request within 24 hours.
- reference requests
- interlibrary loan requests
- general questions or comments

More contacts:

Talk to Library Staff

Reference service is available weekdays 8:30 am - 5:00 pm, when class is in session.

Librarians travel around the library, and may not stay seated at the reference desk.

If you need assistance, with research or library assignments, please ask staff at the circulation desk to locate the librarian.  

Loading ...

Not everything is online...

Life West Library is committed to preserving the history and evolution of chiropractic represented in print journals that may never be digitized. We will scan and send articles in PDF format.

Students in the shelves,looking for a print journal