Covers topics in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Has full-text from 3,000 scholarly publications, more than 2,500 peer-reviewed. Provides abstracts and indexing for additional journals and magazines. Please request interlibrary loan for relevant articles that lack full text.
Provides evidence-based clinical and business resources, by individual login.
Life West students and faculty can request complimentary subscription. Scroll down the subscription page to "Student Free" section. Directors of ChiroUp aim to support an outcome-based practice. They analyze current literature in order to update the database of common conditions and supplemental resources for educating both doctor and patient. The service includes customized exercise prescriptions and ability to share information with patients.
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Covers nursing, alternative therapies, allied health and consumer health. Provides full-text from over 500 journals, and indexing for 3,000 publications. Also includes selected books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Please request interlibrary loan for relevant articles that lack full text.
Systematic reviews and metanalyses of healthcare interventions
Full-text reviews are a key resource in evidence-based health care. This world-wide collaborative project aims to disseminate meta-analyses, by combining the findings of qualified research for an intervention. The research article is followed by extensive documentation of the methodology and findings.
Quick keyword searching of the scholarly literature in many disciplines
Edit personal settings to see links identifying journal articles available in full text at "Life West Online". Google Scholar indexes primarily peer-reviewed articles, and also technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, theses, and more from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, and repositories. The "Cited by" link provides useful leads to related literature.
Citations and abstracts for journals from chiropractic publishers, with full text for our subscriptions.
This link requires login for off-campus users so that linking to full text of subscribed journals is seamless. Advanced search automatically limits results to peer-reviewed articles.. ICL selectively indexes articles from chiropractic trade journals. Links to online articles, when available as open-access or by subscription. Includes ability to e-mail or export citations; Hold Citations feature similar to PubMed's Clipboard, and MyICL for saving searches and citations. The ICL website provides a gateway to its Open Access Library for free articles and books, and to More Resources about reading and publishing research.
Evidence-based summaries about effectiveness of natural medicines
For ingredients in generic natural medicines and branded dietary supplements, the database includes interaction checker (drugs, foods), an effectiveness checker ; information about nutrient depletion, pregnancy & lactation, and adverse effects. Monographs summarize background, effectiveness, and safety issues for various complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
AND (loprovlifewlib [sb] OR free full text [sb])
New / Trial Databases
We are not evaluating any trial resources at this time.