Life Chiropractic College West Library: Keeping Current: Database Tools

For Busy Doctors ... About This Guide

Explore the Database Tools, Review Services and Websites tabs.

Ways to keep up with research and news include blogs, podcasts, newsletters, and alerts.

A lifetime is too short for all the reading a busy doctor would like to do. Some advice for managing information overload:

set up notifications on high interest topics in databases such as PubMed
use social media to connect with a resource such as Index to Chiropractic Literature
subscribe to journal review services such as Dr. Dan Murphy's Article Review
bookmark websites of professional organizations

Have you found other great ways to keep up with important developments in chiropractic? a favorite podcast perhaps?
Please share your suggestion in the Let us know box.

ICL Tools & Features

Index to Chiropractic Literature: MyICL and Social Media
Register for MyICL to set up alerts for saved searches. Connect with a variety of social media options for notification of newly indexed journal articles and updated content on ICL's resource pages. ICL’s Web editor posts regularly to Facebook Twitter, GooglePlus, LinkedIn and Email. Scanning older posts reveals an overview of emerging content in journals relevant to chiropractic practice and the profession.
Index to Chiropractic Literature Help: Keeping Up to Date
Editors' advice on using available tools in the ICL database and at journal websites.
Index to Chiropractic Literature Help: Managing Results with My ICL
My ICL is your personal space. Register an account in My ICL in order to save search histories (My Searches) and collections of records (My Collections). Set up alerts to match saved searches.

PubMed Tools & Features

PubMed: MyNCBI
Free. Register an account with MyNCBI to customize your PubMed experience. Save searches, set up email alerts. Customize filters so you know at a glance which articles are available for free or at Life West Library. Organize private collections of citations or make them public in order to share the link with colleagues.
PubMed Online Training: MyNCBI
Create personal login to save searches, schedule alerts, collect citations, and customize your PubMed search experience.

Let us know ...

Submit your ideas for

Webpage content
New purchases
Library services

Suggestions & Comments webform

Contact Us

Learning Commons/Library
25001 Industrial Blvd.
Hayward, CA 94545

Circulation (Main Number)
510-780-4507

Please Email Us

The staff acknowledges your request within 24 hours.

Circulation Department: circulation@lifewest.edu

Interlibrary loan requests: ill@lifewest.edu

Reference Assistance, Off-Campus Access and Questions: jcox@lifewest.edu

Library Staff Directory

Staff Directory

Keeping Current: Database Tools