Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off Campus Access to eResources: Get Full Text

Remote Access to electronic resources and full text of articles

Intro

On Campus:  Our online resources are available to all library users on campus, including visitors.  When off campus, only resources labeled Open Access (free) are available to everyone.    

Off campus:  Use of paid resources is available only to Life West students and faculty, and requires a login.  
TIP   After logging in at the proxy server, be sure to keep the initial window open to avoid having to login in again.  You can then open other resources in a new tab, such as online databases, journals, ebooks, and multimedia resources.

Please explore the tabs for examples, training and more tips.

On This Page

While chapters in ebooks, and entries in clinical databases are full text, searchers are most aware of seeking full text for journal articles. 

Full Text via Journals List


Searchers typically find articles by searching a database or index, and jump to the full text from there.

Searchers sometimes have to use the Journals List.  Reasons to do so:

  • The database is not set up to show links to local library holdings (Descriptions for each resource in Databases A-Z indicate this detail.)
  • Exploring content in a specific journal is what the researcher  wants to do

Full Text via PubMed


PubMed 
is one of several databases capable of linking to directly to full text available at Life West.   

There are two ways to know which articles are available at our library.  

  1. Set up a free MyNCBI account with LinkOut set to Life West full text
  2. Use one of the custom database link PubMed@Life West  

In either case, only Abstract display shows the button labeled LifeWest Online that links to full text.  

Button in PubMed links to full text at LifeWest


Click on an article title todisplay the Abstract view for the single article.
Choose 3rd radio button in Formatdrop-down menu to change display to Abstract view for all articles, or for check-marked selections only.

Format pull-down menu with radio buttons.
 

Full Text via Google Scholar


Google Scholar 
is one of several databases capable of linking to full text at Life West.   
Searchers must first edit Settings, and subsequently login to their personal Google account. 

Google Scholar automatically displays links to free articles and pay-per-view at publishers' websites. In Settings, researchers can affiliate with Life West.  Google Scholar will identify articles held by our library. Students and faculty have access to full text.  Other researchers must visit the library or contact the staff for fee-based document delivery. 

The system is convenient but not without technical glitches.  Whenever a link does not pass through to the article, jot down the citation and use Journals List to navigate to the article.

This screenshot shows some results of a search about chiropractic.  

Two citations in Google Scholar; one links to article at Life West

This screenshot shows steps to changing Settings in order to affiliate with Life West.

" "

If you have already established a personal Google account, the steps to establishing affiliation are:

  1. Click icon in upper left of Google Scholar to reveal controls
  2. Click Settings
  3. On menu, click Library Links
  4. In textbox, enter Life Chiropractic College West and then search
  5. When LIFEWEST appears, checkmark its box

Tip:  When searching Google Scholar, be sure to login at the personal account where these Settings were made.

 

Quick Links - Related Guides

Please Email Us

The staff acknowledges your request within 24 hours.

Interlibrary loan request -  ill@lifewest.edu

Reference Assistance, Off-Campus Access and Questions - bdelligatti@lifewest.edu